This website uses cookies

Cookies remember you so we can give you a better service online. By using this website or closing this message, you are agreeing to our Cookies noticeClose
Skip to content

News

Graduations

Friday 3rd November 2017

Congratulations to our most recent graduates!
More »

Visitation of the Hall by the Prior-Provincial

Monday 23rd October 2017

Blackfriars Hall was pleased to welcome the Very Revd Dr Martin Ganeri OP
More »

Matriculation 2017

Saturday 14th October 2017

Congratulations to our new students.
More »

Finance, Reality and Morality: Rethinking a broken system

Wednesday 11th October 2017

a series of seminars with Edward Hadas
More »

Academic Mass and Dinner

Thursday 5th October 2017

Blackfriars Hall, Blackfriars and the Community of the Priory of the Holy Spirit came together to mark the beginning of the 2017-18 academic year.
More »

Welcome to Blackfriars!

Wednesday 4th October 2017

On Sunday 1st October, we welcomed our new students to Blackfriars Hall and Studium.
More »

Special Lecture - 'Atonement and Shame'

Wednesday 4th October 2017

Monday 9 October 2017, 5.00pm
More »

Anscombe Memorial Lecture - Celebrating 40 years of the Anscombe Bioethics Centre

Tuesday 12th September 2017

4pm, Monday,16 October 2017 Chastity, Human Dignity and the Common Good: Anscombe and Aquinas
More »

We are sorry to report that Professor David Robertson has died.

Thursday 10th August 2017

With great sadness we must report that St Hugh’s Emeritus Fellow Professor David Robertson has died.
More »

Ordinations at Blackfriars

Thursday 3rd August 2017

Sunday 30 July saw three Dominicans and two Franciscans ordained deacons at Blackfriars, Oxford by Archbishop Malcolm McMahon OP.
More » (External website)

Congratulations to our new graduates!

Thursday 3rd August 2017

Six students from six different countries graduated on Saturday 29th July.
More »

Anscombe on Contraception

Wednesday 28th June 2017

A Half-Day Symposium 22nd July 1pm - 4pm
More »

Free One-day conference - "Healing Friendship, Human and Divine."

Tuesday 25th April 2017

A free one-day conference jointly sponsored by the Jubilee Centre. Saturday 20th May, 9.30-5.00. Register with Liz Gulliford at l.z.gulliford@bham.ac.uk.
More »

Day Conference - Abortion Disability and the Law

Monday 23rd January 2017

Saturday 18th Feb. 9.30am to 4.30pm
More »

Thanksgiving Meal

Friday 25th November 2016

On 25th November Blackfriars hosted a Thanksgiving meal for friars, staff and students.
More »

Seventh Anscombe Memorial Lecture

Monday 14th November 2016

'Is Medicine Losing its Way?
More »

Book Launch - 10th November, 8pm, Blackfriars Aula

Thursday 3rd November 2016

Presentation of the book by Senior Common Room member Dr Pia Jolliffe
More »

Book Launch - two books by staff of the Anscombe Bioethics Centre

Thursday 27th October 2016

On the 27th October Blackfriars hosted the book launch of two books.
More »

Matriculation Michaelmas Term 2016

Saturday 15th October 2016

Congratulations to our new students who matriculated on Saturday.
More »

Honorary Fellow of Blackfriars appointed as a Cardinal

Monday 10th October 2016

On Sunday 9th October, Pope Francis appointed His Excellency The Most Reverend Joseph Tobin CSsR, Archbishop of Indianapolis, as one of seventeen new Cardinals.
More »

The First Event in the Las Casas Institute's Series on Human Dignity

Friday 7th October 2016

"God Created Humanity in his Own Image" What does the bible mean? A lecture with John Day
More »

New Dominican Jubilee Scholar

Wednesday 28th September 2016

Blackfriars Hall welcomes the new Dominican Jubilee Scholar, John Shinkwin.
More »

Graduation Friday 29th July 2016

Monday 1st August 2016

Many congratulations to Linda Eggert, Ramesh Pattni, Ying Mao, Simon Chelley, Joshua Hemmings-Buckler and Margaret Woods who graduated on Friday.
More »

IHRL Matriculation

Friday 8th July 2016

Blackfriars Hall welcomed our new 1st year IHRL (International Human Rights Law) students who matriculated today.
More »

Permissible Harms - A Symposium on Double Effect

Wednesday 15th June 2016

Saturday 16th July 1pm -4pm
More »

Congratulations to Blackfriars Senior Research Fellow Prof Roger Scruton on his knighthood.

Monday 13th June 2016

Blackfriars Senior Research fellow Prof Roger Scruton has been created a Knight Bachelor by Queen Elizabeth II in the Birthday Honours list published on the Queen's 90th birthday.
More »

Special Lecture: Shakespeare around the world: the Tragedy of Romeo and Juliet between East and West

Special Lecture: Shakespeare around the world: the Tragedy of Romeo and Juliet between East and WestMonday 6th June 2016

Dr Yvette Khoury, development support assistant and Shakespeare scholar, will give a lecture at 5.30pm on Tuesday 14th June in the Aula at Blackfriars.
More »

John Henry Newman Lecture

John Henry Newman LectureTuesday 24th May 2016

Bishop Charles Morerod OP gave the 2016 Newman Lecture on 17th May.
More »

Jubilee Vespers to celebrate the Order's 800th Birthday

Friday 6th May 2016

Westminster Cathedral was packed with Dominicans and well-wishers on Friday 6th May, celebrating the Order's 800th birthday.
More »

Showing results 1 - 30 of 85

Architectural

Architectural


News & Events

3rd Nov
Graduations

Congratulations to our most recent graduates!

23rd Oct
Visitation of the Hall by the Prior-Provincial

Blackfriars Hall was pleased to welcome the Very Revd Dr Martin Ganeri OP

14th Oct
Matriculation 2017

Congratulations to our new students.

Find Us

Email:Contact UsPhone:(01865) 278400Address:Blackfriars, St Giles
OXFORD,
OX1 3LY
Visiting Us? Find out how to get here.