This website uses cookies

Cookies remember you so we can give you a better service online. By using this website or closing this message, you are agreeing to our Cookies noticeClose
Skip to content

Recent News

Organist/Choral Director vacancy at Blackfriars, Oxford

Tuesday 6th September 2016

Blackfriars is seeking a new organist
More »

Ordinations at Blackfriars

Monday 11th July 2016

Three brothers receive Holy Orders
More »

Fr David Goodill is elected as new prior of Blackfriars, Oxford

Monday 13th June 2016

Fr David was recently elected and installed as the new prior of Oxford
More »

2016 Pilgrimage to Walsingham

Wednesday 20th April 2016

Join the English Dominicans for their pilgrimage to Walsingham.
More »

Fr Martin Ganeri now Prior Provincial of the English Province

Monday 4th April 2016

The English Province of the Order of Preachers has a new Prior Provincial
More »

A very happy Easter to you all

Sunday 27th March 2016

Wishing you all a very blessed Easter
More »

Telegraph review of Fr Simon Gaine's latest book

Sunday 20th March 2016

The Telegraph reviews Fr Simon's recent book, 'Did the Saviour see the Father?'
More »

Easter Services 2016

Saturday 12th March 2016

The times of Easter services at Blackfriars this year are now available.
More »

New Prior of Oxford

Wednesday 30th December 2015

Blackfriars has a new Prior.
More »

Provincial Assembly held at Blackfriars

Sunday 20th December 2015

Recently brethren from across the English Province of the Order of Preachers descended on Oxford for their Provincial Assembly.
More »

Christmas Service Times

Monday 30th November 2015

The times of our Christmas services are now available
More »

Blackfriars Bake-Off success

Sunday 22nd November 2015

With 22 cakes, the judges had a difficult task in deciding who should be the overall winner of the Great Blackfriars Bake-Off.
More »

Dominicans launch 800th jubilee year

Sunday 8th November 2015

On Saturday 7th November, the Dominican Order launched its 800th jubilee with celebrations at Santa Sabina in Rome, and an online Twitter campaign.
More »

The Great BLACKFRIARS Bake-Off

Sunday 1st November 2015

The Dominicans student brothers will be organising a bake-off to celebrate the beginning of the 800th Jubilee of the Dominican Order
More »

Two new blog series on Godzdogz

Wednesday 14th October 2015

The Dominican student brothers launch two new series on their blog, Godzdogz.
More »

Appeal for Blackfriars Fabric Fund: Emergency Repairs to Our Church

Appeal for Blackfriars Fabric Fund: Emergency Repairs to Our ChurchTuesday 28th July 2015

An appeal for the Blackfriars Fabric Fund has been launched because of the need for emergency repairs to the priory church at Blackfriars.
More »

Diaconal Ordinations

Monday 13th July 2015

On Saturday 11th July, Brs Oliver Keenan and Matthew Jarvis were ordained to the diaconate.
More »

News & Events

17th Oct
Register now for the 7th Anscombe Memorial Lecture

Cardinal Willem Jacobus Eijk, Archbishop of Utrecht
'Is Medicine Losing its Way? A firm foundation for medicine as a real therapeia'

15th Oct
Matriculation Michaelmas Term 2016

Congratulations to our new students who matriculated on Saturday.

10th Oct
Honorary Fellow of Blackfriars appointed as a Cardinal

On Sunday 9th October, Pope Francis appointed His Excellency The Most Reverend Joseph Tobin CSsR, Archbishop of Indianapolis, as one of seventeen new...

Find Us

Email:Contact UsPhone:(01865) 278400Address:Blackfriars, St Giles
Visiting Us? Find out how to get here.